, attached to 2021-08-03

Review by planetlitness

planetlitness The best word I can use to describe this show is [i]cathartic[/i]. It was my first time out since the pandemic, becoming a parent, and then some. So even if it was a cool-off from Alpharetta, this show was exactly what I needed. I would've loved some bust-outs or a monster jam, but for my first time back out in society, the familiarity of these songs just made me appreciate what was going on and take it all in. A beautiful night for sure. My only real criticism is that the first set seemed a lot longer than the second. Not sure what prompted that.
, attached to 2021-08-03

Review by youenjoymyghost

youenjoymyghost Great show tonight with a killer setlist. For me, I didn't hear them connecting on some of the jams. After the last few shows we were bound for a dip in energy but that's okay because the vibe at this venue and this city more than makes up for it. Beautiful here and I'm sure the guys are going to get comfortable and dig it tonight.
, attached to 2021-08-03

Review by emkeyone

emkeyone Am I the only one who feels like there is somebody with a bunch of accounts that likes to influence the scoring? Because I can seldom figure out any rhyme or reason as to how a particular show fares in the early voting. That early voting in turn has a significant impact on the later voting. My paranoid ramblings aside, this was a pretty solid show. In particular I was psyched to finally hear "Divided Sky" in person. This was my 42nd show, so it didn't come quickly but it was worth the wait. As the first few notes played I was thinking "Wait, I know this. WTF, is my long wait over?" Yes, yes it was. I now know the secret to life, the universe and everything. Overall the song selection was good with several personal favorites being featured and some solid to excellent jamming throughout, though nothing super earth shattering. In spite of "Divided Sky" being in the first set I'd give the nod to the second as the better of the two. Possum is always fun and YEM was a nice way to finish up before the "Loving Cup" encore. The venue is great from a listening, aesthetic and vending perspective, but it would benefit from some more bathrooms. It was rare at any time for there not to be a line at both the mens and women's bathrooms and the six or so added extra porta potties only seemed to help a little. Overall I'd rate this show a 3.8 to 3.9 or so.
, attached to 2021-08-03

Review by emkeyone

emkeyone Am I the only one who feels like there is somebody with a bunch of accounts that likes to influence the scoring? Because I can seldom figure out any rhyme or reason as to how a particular show fares in the early voting. That early voting in turn has a significant impact on the later voting. My paranoid ramblings aside, this was a pretty solid show. In particular I was psyched to finally hear "Divided Sky" in person. This was my 42nd show, so it didn't come quickly but it was worth the wait. As the first few notes played I was thinking "Wait, I know this. WTF, is my long wait over. Yes, yes it was. I know know the secret to life, the universe and everything. Overall the song selection was good with several personal favorites being featured and some solid to excellent jamming throughout, though nothing super earth shattering. In spite of "Divided Sky" being in the first set I'd give the nod to the second as the better of the two. Possum is always fun and YEM was a nice way to finish up before the "Loving Cup" encore. The venue is great from a listening, aesthetic and vendor perspective, but it would benefit from some more bathrooms. It was rare at any time for there not to be a line at both the mens and women's bathrooms and the six or so added extra porta potties only seemed to help a little. Overall I'd rate this show a 3.8 to 3.9 or so.
, attached to 2021-08-03

Review by PYIT_Hip

PYIT_Hip Gorgeous night on the bank of the Cumberland River. Those of us in attendance had a full sensory experience, with Mother Nature, the sound, the band, and CK5 locked in for full night of entertainment. If you like Phish’s output thus far this tour, then you won’t be disappointed in the show. I’m definitely gonna take a close listen to Sample and BDTNL, both stellar expamles of the the quality phish is putting out. Mull??? Wasn’t sure about this at first, but whoa!!! What happened there? It turned into an absolute beast. Gotta hear that again. No mans landed the mother ship and ruby waves saw her fly off again. YEM?? Yeah, I’ll take it! Boom! Vocal jam with CK5 rig transcending time and space. Let’s do it again tomorrow!
, attached to 2021-08-01

Review by ChasingDsky

ChasingDsky ... that Tweezer, though, amiright?! Seriously though, this show is a soup-to-nuts feast of tight playing, inspired improvisation, and the silliness we all seek when seeing our favorite band perform. Was the show flawless? Not entirely, but mostly so. Which is what I'd expect in a live performance of very complicated music. A strong storm passed through the venue around 7:20/7:30, causing the venue to clear the lawn. The crowd followed the instruction "and the rain, and the rain, and the rain came down." After a short spell the weather cleared, the crowd repopulated the lawn, and it was ON. The entire show will be shadowed by the Tweezer. But the first set should *not* be overlooked. The band was in fine form and played near-flawless versions of the songs. Buried Alive makes a statement that this show is going to leave you 6-feet under. But don't worry, for I hear that Death Don't Hurt Very Long. In fact, the band helps make the journey easy. A well placed and well played SYSF with a nice type 1 beautifully meandering jam that brought spirits high (pun possibly intended). Reba is played incredibly well once Trey remembers how to start it. It's definitely worth a listen. As are the Jiboo and Antelope from this set. The rest is all played very well. I'm not a fan of Thread, but this version is captivating and fits very well with the rest of the set. Is this the best Tweezer every played? Who knows, and who cares. Picking "the best" Tweezer is not different than deciding which of your children is the best. Even though it's obviously your daughter, you'll never tell your sons. And, frankly, some days she's outshined by her little brother. Let's just say that this version is "the best." Period. It must be played and played often. The Twist and Piper keep the heat going and provide the perfect digestif to this huge meal. The 55 minute Tweezer->Twist->Piper from this show are Phish in their finest form. The rest of the show is just icing. Perhaps Farmhouse and Waste are too sweet for your tastes following the red meat the band just threw out to the crowd. That's OK. Clearly Trey enjoyed them, as you can hear the emotion creep into his voice and his delicious lead work in both songs (and again during the Sleeping Monkey encore). Normally I am a huge fan of First Tube. This one rages to be sure. But IMO Trey was a bit too loosey-goosey with the main riff phrasing and timing for me to really get into it. But again, who cares? I'm thrilled that I got to see this one live. Never miss an Alpharetta show. Or a Sunday show. Or, at this rate, a 2021 show.
, attached to 2021-07-31

Review by art_vandelay

art_vandelay Was a blast to be at this show, and the boys didn't disappoint. Upon relistening, not only did I enjoy myself all over again, I was surprised to remember how much of the performance was dominated with groove-heavy rhythm and Type II jams, including a wide-open and usually Type I Chalkdust. Only gripe is with the LivePhish audio. While it's an overall quality listen, sometimes Trey's effects don't sound fully connected into the soundboard...so occasionally, some of Trey's peak-building effects are only faintly heard on the LP recording, despite ringing loud & clear at the actual show. Hope a remix is forthcoming :D
, attached to 2021-08-01

Review by hurdygurdy03

hurdygurdy03 Little bit of rain to cool off the crowd prior to the start of the show. Once the announcement came back that the lawn was reopen (and everyone was already there) it was go time. Simiilar to Camden 2019 N1, I felt a SYSF opener inbound (feel a little rain) but was thrown a hot Buried Alive. Tone was on and we all knew this night was going to be something. SYSF to follow in the second spot had some legs. The first chuck of Reba till the bliss of the ending jam was played well. MYFE had a knife, or two, and ended strong and complete. KDF to Jibboo was a good pairing and both gave just enough to the crowd to keep their dancing shoes warm. While the band figured out how Thread started again we awaited a possible big bust out and, although only the 5th time played, this thread unraveled into some deep dark space. Something to look forward to in the future. Antelope smoked and set break came too soon. Been you to have any refreshments, Mon? Now for set 2…. Something about More opening the frame left an initial “lot to be desired” about this but here come the opening notes of what we all have been waiting for….TWEEZER. Many could probably write a novel about this 33+ Minute behemoth but I’ll let your own ears be the judge. From the McGrupp jam/tease around 15:30 to the powerful stop start, sample-effects-laden, driving jam cruising past the 30 minute mark, it is exactly what Alpharetta ordered. A classic Twist>Piper pairing bleeds out of the end of Tweezer. Something that has only been done a handful of times in the last 12 years believe it or not. To continue the Farmhouse album theme of the night we get the title track. A patient and swirling, yet soft jam to cool those down whose heart rate was still 100+ after the three prior songs. Waste reminds us that we love wasting our time with this band and First Tube brings out rock star Trey full force. Jedi Mode activated. Encore - Grab the Kleenex, at least for Page here, as we go home on the train and trey thanks us for a great weekend before Tweeprise sends us on the road again. Solid first weekend back if I may say so myself. Happy summer tour and long live the Phish….from Vermont.
, attached to 2021-08-01

Review by Laudanum

Laudanum First set is very good, with an excellent My Friend and a unique and somehow plaintive Jibboo. Thread is the tightest version yet, and gets pleasantly strange. Trey breaks out his rusty machine gun for Antelope. But second set is where the goods are, namely the Tweezer > Twist > Piper sequence. Here, then, is where we leave the map. The Tweezer folds and morphs, requiring multiple listens to ascertain its full geometry. The Twist and Piper keep with this theme, both containing sections quite unlike recent versions of these songs. The full effect is 55+ minutes of mind-bending Phish, new jams resetting songs like the band had somehow psychically kept playing through the pandemic. It's likely a fool's errand to project out a tour based on four shows, especially one so tenuously balanced, but with this trajectory, we may at the beginning of something truly special here, kids. The revolution won't be televised, but it just may be webcast.
, attached to 2021-07-30

Review by Museummouth

Museummouth Okay so they’re getting a bit more warmed up now I see. 1st set has a nice sufficient Ghost, and Walls, a song I usually don’t care for, goes pretty hard. 2nd set Carini is the beast though of the show. Excellent synth action from Page and lots of space funk layering. Easy jam chart version and probably a top 5 Carini overall. The rest of the set is nice as well but doesn’t match those highs. Yarmouth Road was a mess of flubs and forgetting lyrics but kinda funny. 3.9/5.0
, attached to 2021-07-28

Review by Museummouth

Museummouth A sold enough tour opener. A little bit of rust here and there but a fun enough show. Wolfmans is a nice first set microjam with some good peaks. The LxL is also worth checking out. 2nd set doesn’t quite go that deep. There’s a nice exploratory Simple that has a cool segue to Fuego but that’s all that you really need to listen to if just skimming for highlights. Accurately rated at 3.3/5.0.
, attached to 2021-08-01

Review by HarpuaTheBulldog

HarpuaTheBulldog Just fucking unbelievable show, the Tweezer > Twist > Piper is... like just new ground, the Tweezer specifically deserves an essay but I'll let someone else describe that, just improv after improv after improv to create riffs out of thin air and turn them into hose. After the great first set (SYSF, Reba with the nailed composed section, Thread > Meat with the absolutely insane Antelope peak), the first song of the second set was "More" and it made us all think for a second, and then Tweezer drops, just absolutely insane. Immediately a must-hear, likely 34 minutes and change of repeated hose after hose after crunchy hose. The Tweezer > Twist (great stuff there too) > Piper (must hear as well) rings a bit of 12/6/97 except this is a new Phish, a new Trey with an insistence to play and jam and create stuff, because, look at it from the point of view of the band, will there be more tours? will we be sidelined for an indefinite time? trey has obviously been practicing so much. Farmhouse and Waste great versions and Trey is back on top with First Tube. Another shoutout to the emotional encore with Sleeping Monkey. Remember Page and Trey getting emotional during Wading during Coventry 2004? And that was gonna be the last show ever? Now they're both in the emotions before an adoring crowd 17 years later. Because they're back. Phish is fucking back. Have you seen anything like this lol? I mean it's just the improv that isn't anything like I've seen in 3.0. They're playing like it's the last tour because it very well might be. Enjoy it while you have it. Trey is nailing composed sections left and right. And may have gotten emotional during Farmhouse. What a king. We're here for 4.0! Must hear: S1: Reba, Thread > Meat, Antelope S2: Really the whole thing. But if you're short on time: Tweezer > Twist > Piper, First Tube (also grab the Sleeping Monkey with crowd vocals). I don't know what to say, it's so good. Ride the wave folks
, attached to 1995-12-31

Review by HarpuaTheBulldog

HarpuaTheBulldog There's a Fire On The Mountain tease (two separate ones, in fact) at the end of the Drowned right before they segue into Lizards. Just pointing that out to y'all since it's not on the recap. Thanks! Great show from a great era. You can't go wrong with this show. In fact, I'd recommend it to a new head if they show interest in the 90s. Just that good!
, attached to 2021-07-31

Review by ChasingDsky

ChasingDsky This is a great show, worthy of a download on your favorite source for such things. My wife and I took the waaay back of the lawn, Page side. The sound, sight lines, and atmosphere were on-point. As for the the music: it’s good. Damn good. The band is tuned in and hitting all cylinders despite only being 3 shows into a tour after a very long hiatus. I won’t go into too many details on each song, however some highlights: Everything’s right has a nice winding, happy jam. Maze is fierce and a bit angry, as we expect. Stash is a great offering. Much will be said about the CDT, and right rightfully so. It’s a jam beast with many twists, while staying generally happy. The stash and caspian that follows are solid. Several others commented about the “weird” placement of Golgi, AC/DC, and Shade. As an old vet, all I can say is the following: the sooner you realize that the band is out there to make themselves happy, the better. They play what feels right, and what makes them happy. The benefit for those of us listening: unleashed creativity that, more often than not, feels right too. Golgi in the second frame? F’yeah. I will sing and show my stub whenever you want to see it. This show is great. Full stop.
, attached to 2021-07-31

Review by 90MinuteJam

90MinuteJam Yeah. Keep it coming boys and bummer re lack of glow sticks. The best part of this show was my friends complete satisfaction, qualified with ‘this is the best show ever’. Of course it wasn’t, but that’s the beauty. He had a blast. And to him it was the best ever (with a little help). It’s nice to enjoy a show with no thought on song choice, length, location, quality, etc etc etc. just being with new and old friends, dancing hard and singing together in the Shade. yeeeeaaaahhh.
, attached to 2021-07-31

Review by beovaldi

beovaldi This is a good show…First Set highlights for me are definitely the ER and Stash. The rest is listenable and groove worthy…my two year old son even started moving his body as we couch toured. The Chalkdust gets things going right to begin the second set. Anyone watching the webcast or riding the rail undoubtedly saw Trey, as they ended CDT Proper make a signal with his hand to Jon - fingers pointing to the air like a spaceship launching into space. “Let’s blast off, Fish.” And launch us they did…as far as 3.0 CDTs go, only the BD and Randall’s versions compare. This will be relistened to and analyzed multiple times by these ears. (Like the Carini from Oak Mountain the night before.) Steam was a perfect call after that, like a cigarette after hot intercourse, and Caspian was well executed. Then, for me, a weird run of three songs killed a second set that could have been…Golgi, the late set Bag, and Shade were just oddly placed to me and kind of killed the vibe that Dust laid down to open the set. I like all three songs, and they certainly have their functions. Just odd to me. But maybe that’s just me. The Mike’s>Silent>Paug to close, however, got things going again and finished the show with some gusto. The “This exact thing happened to me…just last year” part was fun and seemed to elicit a huge release from the audience. Encore of two songs that this Phan hopes they will shelf for good… Good fun show. 3.75/5. The download is highly recommended, even if it’s mainly for the Chalkdust. Don’t sleep on the ER, Stash, or closing Mike’s>Silent>Paug either.
, attached to 2021-07-31

Review by jayreeder

jayreeder Great 1st four run to get the place sizzling. Stash jam was great. Gin was good to hear but I didn’t feel they clicked in the jam. Chalkdust continued where Stash left off and took it all the way. Caspian Golgi AC/DC bag was another good run. Band and crowd were having a great time. I personally enjoy LBTD. Very beautiful guitar that ramps up with emotion. Cavern always welcome.
, attached to 2021-07-31

Review by LizardwithaZ

LizardwithaZ [url=https://phish.net/blog/1627810324/alpharetta-1-recap.html]Full review from me[/url] Mini review: amazing 1st set with no slow points. 2nd set had great playing and great jams, if a little disjointed near the end. Sand, ER, CDT, and Caspian were all fantastic. They nailed Foam! Lots of great synth work out of Page, and Fish is having fun with his samples.
, attached to 2021-07-30

Review by KWdub24

KWdub24 I will never understand the ratings on this site! I was in attendance and I guess you can never really translate how good a show actually was unless you were there. I boogied nonstop all night, it was not optional. Great setlist flow, the Carini jam seamlessly led from one section to the next. Even the slower songs were played beautifully. This show rocked, period!
, attached to 2021-07-30

Review by acidtechno

acidtechno this show absolutely slayed. great pace, fun setlist, and everything they played (to perfection i might add) had a particular sonic palate that i really enjoyed. both sets had their own vibe and an energy but combine to be cohesive listening experience. highlights for me was pretty much everything. the carini is the best ive ever heard, but everything else has merit.
, attached to 2021-07-30

Review by themayor

themayor I was [i]supposed[/i]to be at this show. I was gonna make the drive from Nashville, but right as I got into my drive, I started feeling my tire deflate. I pulled over to go to a gas station to quickly fill up my tires with air and I would be on my way! Turns out the air pump was broken and was only taking air out of my tires. Long story short, I had 3 deflated tires and couldn't make it. I was very sad. But this show was incredible. I bought another webcast with the money I got from selling my ticket. Set 1 opened with a strong Moma. The band already sounded tighter. Sigma Oasis was awesome and blissful in the fleeting sunlight. The rest of set 1 was performed very very well super tight and awesome. Not too much to say for it besides it was very solid. Set 2 opened with Evening Song which is cool. Good to hear Sigma Oasis songs sound really great. That went into Carini. Whoa! It was getting exciting. Carini went into a slow burning jam, and just when it seemed like Trey wanted to segue into something else, he turned it into a riff and the band picked right up, and the jam went into multiple different segments from there. It turned out to be the longest Carini to date. Wow. All timer jam, in my opinion. The rest of the show was really great, too, the Hood was awesome as hell. I can't WAIT to hear Alpharetta run, and then I'M ATTENDING THE NASHVILLE RUN!!
, attached to 2021-07-28

Review by mikeisupa

mikeisupa My first show review (I'm definitely a jam-oriented listener, but love the songs): 7/28/21 If you thought Phish sounded different on this night, you’re right. They do sound different. I’m sure there are many pandemic-related reasons—being cooped up for over a year and itching to play live again, Trey’s energy coming off the Beacon Jams and the Divided Sky Foundation fundraising effort, and several pandemic releases (Sigma Oasis, December, and Lonely Trip…not to mention Trey’s many Instagram “releases”). But there are also some tangible differences. Trey debuted a new guitar, which he has described as the “4.0 guitar.” Maybe a reference to this being Phish 4.0 (although Trey reportedly doesn’t buy into the whole 1.0, 2.0 thing), but definitely a reference to this being his fourth Koa Languadoc (way more on this guitar here: https://treysguitarrig.com/2021/07/28/2021-summer/). Trey had recently modified some of his guitars to have two outputs, first running to an amp with more clean tone, and the other running to an amp with all his effects. This guitar seems to have been built specifically for this new rig—the first Languedoc built with two outputs. The guitar also has a warm tone, and rich sustain. So Trey just sounds a little different. Mike’s rig is also modified. He has been using different rigs when he plays solo and with Phish. He has recently been modifying his Phish setup so that he uses the same (or very similar) rig regardless of who he’s playing with. You can listen to him discuss his rig with Tom Marshall on Under The Scales here: https://www.osirispod.com/podcasts/under-the-scales/under-the-scales-048mike-gordon-part-1/ (somewhere around the 25 minute mark). But the first sign that Phish was going to sound different (other than Trey’s January announcement of his new guitar) was visible during the stage shot of Page’s rig during the live stream, before the show even started. Page made a MAJOR transformation to his setup, moving his Hammond Organ/Nord Stage stack from the left side of his piano to the right of his piano, and moving his Wurlitzer electric piano/Moog synth from right of his piano to left. This is huge. Think of all the classic songs that involve Page playing piano with his right hand and organ with his left—often at the end of big jams like Hood and Slave. I went back and rewatched the Slave from this show, and it looked like Page turned left to find his hand placement on his organ before remembering that the Hammond is now to the right. Then you see him playing the Hammond with both hands (no piano) at the end of the jam. So I’m expecting to see him opting for one or the other during these moments, rather than switching to piano with left hand and organ with right. Page playing organ with his left hand and piano with his right at the end of jams has helped create that “wall of sound” that makes those peaks sound so big. Is that element of their sound now gone? Why would he make such a transformational change? Well, for the past several tours it seems like Page’s go-to keys for jamming have been the Wurlitzer/synth stack (and it has been amazing!). And so I think Page is saying that when the band is jamming, he wants to play these keyboards, while also being able to see his bandmates. And this seems true for nearly the whole tour opener—Page is camped out at his Wurlitzer, and the synth is coming out with far more frequency. So I think we can expect a far more synth-heavy tour this summer. I’d also add that Page just sounds way more out front to me. He is playing very assertively, and taking a lead role during a lot of the jamming. Page-side is definitely raging! Other differences I heard were hard to tell if it was actually different, or just a byproduct of the live stream mix (or my tv’s sound bar vs. usual headphones). But it sounded to me like Page and Mike’s vocals were louder in the mix. I’m not an expert on this stuff, but it also seemed like Mike is singing harmonies more frequently in his head voice than his chest voice. Both Mike and Page sounded a little more assertive with their singing, and I wondered if this is in response to how much Trey’s singing has developed in recent years. I think they may be hearing that change and stepping up their games as well. Now let’s talk about the jamming. Yes, there was maybe some rust on some of the early songs, especially around endings (Bouncing Around the Room stood out). What I was actually hearing was some nerves, but also I think there was some very close listening by the band, and maybe they were trying too hard to pick up on cues from each other—triggering some mis-cues. But none of the rusty moments bothered me one bit because the energy was hot. Set one was pretty much all straight versions of songs, but with a nice intensity. Limb By Limb and 46 Days stood out to me as great “straight” versions of “type 1” jams. Wolfman’s was “type 1,” but the most stretched out performance of the first set. It was funky, and rocked hard. A great listen, but definitely not a big “type 2” exploration jam. Set two was a different story. The first 4 songs (Disease, Simple, Fuego, and Plasma) all featured “type 2” jamming, and segued—so this was sort of one big block of music. I’ll return to this part of the show in a moment. The rest of the set was pretty straight. During the first jam section of Jim, Trey transitioned into Weekapaug, and they actually played a whole chorus before snapping back into Jim. Call it a segue, call it a tease. On the Live Phish app, they only list it as Jim, so I guess that makes it an extended tease. And there was some sort of vocal sample going on during Slave. During the jam, Trey was holding this one long, extended note, and there was some sort of vocal sample that kept playing. It sounded like Page at his Nord, but on re-watching, I can’t see him anywhere near the Nord. I’m still not quite sure what was going on there. Fish seemed to be smiling, and Trey seemed to be totally into the jam and not responding at all. It seemed a little distracting to me, but I’m curious to know more about it. Returning to the first four songs of the set, there was a lot of jamming! Down with Disease and Plasma were both great. The Disease was much more exploratory than the Plasma, and would have been the standout jam in a lot of shows. Trey seemed to surprise his bandmates with the end of Plasma, but it was a great version nonetheless. Both jams were moody and the band sounded locked-in a la pre-pandemic late 3.0. Fantastic! But the highlight for me was definitely Simple. This was an EXTRAORDINARY jam. I hate to say “the first” about anything Phish, because who knows. But I heard something I hadn’t heard before, and I hope to hear again! During the “type 2” jamming, Trey improvised a theme—and in that sense, it’s similar to some of the huge major key “bliss” jamming of the late 3.0 era—but what was different was that he didn’t keep playing the theme while the band laid down an incredible groove. Instead, he played the theme twice, then re-joined the exploratory jamming with the rest of the band. Then as the jam went in a new direction, he revisited that theme over the new groove. He did this several times. It sort of reminded me of Chopin’s nocturnes…developing a theme, then exploring variation on that theme. If you listen along with the Live Phish version of the song, I’ll point out the times for the original theme, and its variations. The jam starts to go into “type 2” territory around the 5:25 (or around 6:00, depending on how much of a purist you are). Then the theme makes its first appearance at the seven-minute mark, playing it a few times between 7:00-7:40. That part of the jam still had a very “Simple” sound to it—and had that been the entire jam, it would have been noteworthy. Then we go through a slightly darker, synth-heavy passage before Trey’s theme emerges again at 8:43 and 9:06. Then, just as the jam starts to brighten up, Trey plays his theme at the 10:06 mark, this time through a gnarly, distorted tone (followed immediately by another run through a cleaner tone), and one more time at 10:34. From here, the jam goes into another movement—sort of reminiscent of a Light jam (?)—and Trey bounces around the theme several times, without playing it directly, at around 11:00. Then at 11:37 he plays it again through another effects-laden tone (followed by a variation of the theme by Mike). The theme emerges again, this time coming out of a fairly abstract jam, right at 12:45. And at 13:01 Trey plays it a final few times, through VERY heavy effects. Again, I’m not saying they’ve never jammed like this before, I just can’t think of another example. This was simply brilliant playing. The jam gets pretty abstract towards the end. The time isn’t standard, and Trey and Mike are both using a lot of effects. And out of this abstract moment, Trey starts playing the opening chords to Fuego. But Trey’s still using tons of effects, Page is playing a synth, and the time doesn’t seem to be quite back to standard as Trey starts singing the first verse. It’s like they didn’t quite fully segue out of the crazy Simple jam into Fuego, and are now playing Fuego half-standard, half in a different (fully improvised) arrangement. Man, what an incredible band! Somewhere around the 2-minute mark, it sort of pops into a standard Fuego (albeit very effects-heavy). From there, it’s basically a “type 1” jam, but a really good one. I’ve listened to the Simple>Fuego several times, and it’s sort of hard to listen to the Simple without listening to the Fuego. For me, the Simple>Fuego is the clear highlight of the show…and it could turn out to be a highlight of the tour. And all this on my birthday—happy birthday to me! [url]https://treysguitarrig.com/2021/07/28/2021-summer/[/url] [url]https://www.osirispod.com/podcasts/under-the-scales/under-the-scales-048mike-gordon-part-1/[/url]
, attached to 2021-07-30

Review by 90MinuteJam

90MinuteJam Yeah. That was a good show. Honorable mention to the fans who kept projectiles away from the band, And nice to see glow stick action again- lets bring our A game tomorrow. As for the music, well, you saw/heard it. Straight up heater. Was great to see Mike take the initial lead on encore, w/ two more for good measure. The boys connected on all levels tonight; This is a great place to be as a band and as a fan. Yeah.
, attached to 2021-07-30

Review by Col_Radicones_Ascent

Col_Radicones_Ascent Couch toured and well...wow what a show, getting really excited for AC! Really enjoyed it from start to finish. I love a Moma opener and in fact the song choices of both sets were impeccable. I love the new tunes like Sigma Oasis (despite the ironic lyrics) and Evening Song so I would never see those as detractors and so from beginning to end I'd be cheering. First set highlight for me was the opener thru Ghost. I am digging our 2021 Phish they are swinging for the fences and the tones and a effects are cool spacey and "futuristic" (see Fuego from the other night), the Ghost added some of those tones but is a blast of trilling bliss and then Driver...c'mon. First set boded (baded?....bodes!? it's bodes)...well anyway the second set had high expectations and well...yeah they brought it. Have I mentioned this was the second show back after being off for a year and half...so um yeah, this momentum is full steam. The second set like the first was a damn delight. The Carini is explosive and just rips a donut size hole in the middle of the set with Martian Monster and Golden Age. I love Mountain in the friggin Myst (Myst was so good so quick shout out) and then Blaze can either be a cool down, a scorcher or a black hole. This one played a quick romp into my favorite set closer Harry Hood. Hood like Slave and pizza its always good and this one delivers in turn. Fun encore and a fun night! Can't wait to see what show #3 brings.
, attached to 2021-07-30

Review by Col_Radicones_Ascent

Col_Radicones_Ascent Couch toured and well...wow what a show, getting really excited for AC! Really enjoyed it from start to finish. I love a Moma opener and in fact the song choices of both sets were impeccable. I love the new tunes like Sigma Oasis (despite the ironic lyrics) and Evening Song so I would never see those as detractors and so from beginning to end I'd be cheering. First set highlight for me was the opener thru Ghost. I am digging our 2021 Phish they are swinging for the fences and the tones and a effects are cool spacey and "futuristic" (see Fuego from the other night), the Ghost added some of those tones but is a blast of trilling bliss and then Driver...c'mon. First set boded (baded?....bodes!? it's bodes)...well anyway the second set had high expectations and well...yeah they brought it. Have I mentioned this was the second show back after being off for a year and half...so um yeah, this momentum is full steam. The second set like the first was a damn delight. The Carini is explosive and just rips a donut size hole in the middle of the set with Martian Monster and Golden Age. I love Mountain in the friggin Myst (Myst was so good so quick shout out) and then Blaze can either be a cool down, a scorcher or a black hole. This one played a quick romp into my favorite set closer Harry Hood. Hood like Slave and pizza its always good and this one delivers in turn. Fun encore and a fun night! Can't wait to see what show #3 brings.
, attached to 2021-07-30

Review by HarpuaTheBulldog

HarpuaTheBulldog Amazing show, amazing Carini but also really the whole night was superb. A full show from top to bottom. Golden Age into Mountains of the Mist was really great, and so was the Hood. Seemed like every song or every pair had a story to it. Loved the reggae Yarmouth in the encore as well as the new Gumbo format, and then of course a great Zero closer. What a fucking show lol, you love to see it
, attached to 2021-07-28

Review by Outlive

Outlive [b]Phish Is Back and Trey Would Like a Word with All of You[/b] The day before my 6-year Phishiversary I was able to catch Phish’s first-ever show in Arkansas for my 26th show overall, a milestone I had hoped to reach last year, but, well, we all know what happened. And, yeah, about that. Trey’s got something to say to you. And me. And, apparently, to Sara Huckabee Sanders. This show actually reminded me a lot of my very first show. With me in attendance was my wife (who was not with me for my first show; this was her 23rd show overall) and my buddy who got me into the band in 2015 (after multiple attempts to convert me in the preceding years) (who was there with me at my first show. And he brought his 19-year-old daughter for her first show (who dug it!)). He is a true ambassador for Phish Nation. We arrived early (about 4:00 PM) to do Shakedown. My wife found a great pair of earrings and pendant from a purveyor of wares we have frequented on tours past (@lilydrivestoofast on Insta—give her a follow and check out her tent on tour). My wife was so happy, at least until the sun started baking her to a crisp (she is actually allergic to heat, and it was brutal. Hottest of my 26 shows (though Austin 2018 is a close second). She suffered through, enjoyed the music, but is still hurting today. Such are the sacrifices of a true fan (though she tells me this is the last outdoor summer show she will do (other than Dick's)). You know what that means: hello NYE run! The venue was OK. Not too much trouble getting in. No real hassles with security. Ushers (in our area, anyway) were friendly and reasonable. We had a bunch of aisle dancers next to us, and they were a blast to watch. The concession choices sucked, the lines got long after about 6:45, but the folks running the concession stands were among the friendliest I have encountered anywhere. We were hoping that having seats would keep us out of the sun, but the way the venue is configured, that didn't really work out (to my wife's dismay). I avoided alcohol, and was drinking water as fast as possible, with multiple trips to the water-fountain or concession line to refill and replenish. But it was hard to stay hydrated, especially as I was rolling on both Delta 8 and classic gummies, which kept the thirst-meter pegged at an unquenchable 11 all evening. Crowd energy did not disappoint, though the oppressive heat had to dampen the reaction compared to what it might have been had we been enjoying cooler temps. The crowd went nuts when the band took the stage. I got chills and bumps and maybe a few tears welled in my eyes. It would not be the only time that would happen. My first impression, given the setlist (in which we essentially were treated to “two first sets” with no “monster jams”) was that this would be one of those shows that would be much better in person than listening back. One of my favorite things about going to shows in person as opposed to listening on headphones or whatever is that certain songs I never listen to are really a lot of fun at the show (I'm looking at you NICU and Fuego). I'm a terrible dancer and actually enjoy standing fairly still as I lose myself in the music. But I love watching people who can really dance get down to the danceable tunes. One of my favorite things about a Phish show--seeing all that joy being expressed is such a beautiful buzz. This was a very live-audience-friendly show. And since I was so fortunate, blessed, privileged, and beyond grateful to be numbered among those in attendance, I enjoyed it thoroughly, and I will never, ever take for granted the wonderful gift of live music generally and Phish concerts in particular. But as much as I enjoyed the surrounding atmosphere, I have since discovered in listening back the last two days that this show actually sounds even better in the recording than it did in the venue (for me). There were no big, long jams. But there was plenty of jamming. Was it a “rager?” Not really. Any jams that will make it into the JOTY Final Four six months from now? Highly doubtful (though maybe Wolfman’s will get into the tourney). Were the vocals hit-or-miss? Yup (but, honestly, when is that not the case, really?). Was there rust? Sure, a little, but not nearly as much as some are suggesting, and to my ear they were more in sync than in many other tour openers of recent years past. Yeah, there were some flubs (Bouncing was sub-par; the first three minutes of Free were a little rough; Fuego had some issues; the laugh/cough samples from Fishman in Slave were jarring). But overall, the play was tight, the band was clearly having a blast and was happy to be there (one of them said at the end of Slave, “Oh my god, it’s good to play again.”); there were some interesting and novel new jamming sounds, and Trey’s new guitar tone is simply glorious. I cannot wait to hear what he does with that over the course of the year. I really liked the new light rig with the angled running lights and rainbow of colors, and CK made good use of the canopy ceiling (is ceiling the right word?) covering the pavilion. I'm really looking forward to what he has in store for us as tour goes on. I’m sure he has many tricks up his sleeve. There were times when the light combinations seemed to create an almost three-dimensional sphere around the band members on stage. It was truly spectacular. Trey’s guitar tone, Mike’s grooving, Kuroda’s lights, Fish’s excitement, Page’s moody keys, the band’s love for the fans and appreciation for the gift they have in being able to go out on the road again—all these things bode very well for not only the rest of summer tour, but the whole year. The show is an auspicious sign of things to come. In the context of when and where this show was played (and even who was in attendance) and all we have been through the last 18 months, this was quite a remarkable show. I believe this show will long be remembered, and it will grow in esteem as time marches on (bucking the usual trend of an initial flurry of high marks followed by inevitable decline). I think it will age well. And part of the reason for that is this: lurking beneath what on the surface appears to be a prototypical “3.0 show” that looks like it might have been churned out by an algorithm that was fed all the setlists from the last 7 years, there is a clear and consistent (alternatingly subtle and, um, not-so-subtle) message from Trey. Yes, he wants us to know he loves. Yes, he is glad to be back and happy to see us. But, goddammit, he wants us all to stop fighting and start treating each other with equanimity. And he wants us to ne smart. He is gently telling the few of us who are still not with the program to quit being knuckleheads and follow the science, get vaccinated, and wear a fucking mask already. He also has some criticism for those who are continuing to divide us, continuing to harm the body politic, and continuing to resist the message of peace, love, and understanding. Trey’s looking at you, Sarah Sanders! How do I know this? Well, he told us. In virtually every song the band played. Each song is like the piece of a mosaic which, when put together, forms an image, the message of which is clear. Let’s go song by song and we will see that this show was equal to far more than the sum of its parts. 1. [b]I Never Need You Like This Before.[/b] This one is obvious. Trey is pleading with us to not continue to let the twin diseases of Covid and hyper-partisanship divide and conquer us: [i]“There's something in this silent wood That won't, although I know it could, Ensnare us in a veil so black We'd never find the passage back.” [/i]Oh, and also, he loves us and missed us, and is glad to be back because if had to make one more dumb Youtube video from his house with his cat he’d go nuts. (For Trey’s wonderful tone, check out the 2:51-3:30 range). 2. [b]Tube[/b]. [i]“give myself to science, I felt that it could help.”[/i] Hear that, anti-maskers? Anti-vaxxers? Science. It can help if you’ll give yourself to it. Try it. Please. It’s [i]“stupendous, living in this tube.”[/i] So let’s not fuck it up, OK? We’re almost to the goal line. Let’s not fumble this. Get vaxxed already. Yeesh. That’s what Trey is saying. (For Trey’s tone, check out 2:38 to 5:49—it’s like melted butter). 3. [b]Free[/b]. A song to express what we all feel—the joy of feeling the feeling we forgot for the first time in ages. This was the first time after the band started playing that the goosebumps hit and the tears welled up. But it would not be the last. The crowd sang that particular line with a little extra mustard each time. 4. [b]Bouncing[/b]. Always a good pairing with Free. Again referencing how good it is to be back together again: [i]“that time then, and once again, I’m bouncing round the room.” [/i]The crowd picked up on this reference and sang this part with gusto. 5. [b]46 Days[/b]. [i]“sit yourself down when you’re ready to stay”[/i] but also [i]“taste the fear for the devil’s drawing near.”[/i] A perfect encapsulation of the current moment: the joy we feel at being together again because of the miracle of modern science giving us the vaccine, but also the warning that the present moment is tenuous. Let’s not fuck this up, mmkay? (Second nice little jam of the night. Check out the 4:00-7:00 segment for the highlights). 6. [b]Limb by Limb[/b]. [i]“I never want a hacking cough.” [/i]Yeah, me neither. Any initially skeptical readers still have doubts that Trey is using the setlist to send a message? Oh, and we get our first dig at Sarah Huckabee Sanders and those of like mind: “[i]Left is where I always turn.”[/i] Heh. (Trey’s tone is just so gorgeous in this song, which may become my favorite LxL ever. I had an out-of-body experience as my gummies really kicked in. Check out 3:17-7:00, especially 6:17-6:55. Just glorious). 7. [b]Wolfman’s Brother[/b]. If things are gonna get better, there’s gotta be some big changes. From all of us (but some more than others). Not little changes. A complete metamorphosis is required. And what better symbol of metamorphosis than the Wolfman (yeah, yeah, I know. Butterflies. But Phish does not have a song called Butterfly’s Brother, so this was the next best thing). Song of the night. Early JOTY tournament contender. Check out 3:50 to, well, the end, with one ridiculous note in the 8:40-9:00 range). 8. [b]NICU[/b]. How many stories have we been subjected to over the last 18 months about hospital ICUs? And now with Delta variant, NICUs are starting to overflow in certain areas: [i]“nice evening at home I dread even more”[/i] (could Trey be telling us he really, really didn’t like being holed up in his NYC apartment all that time? I think so, yes). [i]“Would you please make clear to me I’m peering through your opacity Though you rehearse tomorrow’s verse Forgive me if I don’t sing in your key.”[/i] Another dig at the folks who are “opaque” to facts or reason. Another dig at Huckabee? Perhaps. 9. [b]Drift While You’re Sleeping[/b]. As we all know, this is a song about losing loved ones, and how we deal with the aftermath of that trauma. 4.2 million people have died of Covid worldwide since the pandemic began 18 months ago (probably more: does anyone think China has only lost 4,000 to the virus?). Here Trey implores us to [i]“turn the page”[/i] from the wars we wage while giving us a nod to the terrible heat we are suffering through with “the sun feels warm and that heat there is truth. And he strikes a hopeful chord at the end: [i]“love will carry us through.”[/i] (Check out Trey’s tone at 3:10-4:50; 8:42-9:10, and 9:29-11:25 (chillbump alert!)) 10. [b]Down with Disease[/b]. Boo disease! Boo! [i]“Nothing I can say to make it stop.”[/i] It has certainly felt that way at times, hasn’t it? So what’s the answer? 11. [b]Simple[/b]. D’uh. This ain’t that hard, folks. When confronted with a plague, perhaps you should try avoiding it like, I don’t know, the plague? Another message for the thickheaded numbskulls who haven’t quite figured it out yet. Get vaxxed, etc. Quit being a dumbass. This is pretty simple stuff, actually. (Trey’s tone from 4:00-9:45 is just wonderful. The DwD>Simple part of the show is certainly a highlight) 12. [b]Fuego[/b]. Definitely a nod to the heat of the evening. But also there is this: [i]“I see guilty people, angels blowing horns.” [/i]Perhaps he spotted Sanders in the crowd? Or perhaps he is simply lamenting the massive loss of life and the accompanying “angels blowing horns” to welcome them to their eternal rest. 13. [b]Plasma[/b]. Another Covid-laden title, as plasma has been used to treat Covid patients. I think Trey really hated being cooped up for so long, as did so many of us (I didn’t leave my house but maybe ten times in over a year. [i]“No matter how you slice your day or dream of places far away or try to set your world apart You always end up where you start.”[/i] If that doesn’t describe the frustration of every day being like the movie Groundhog Day while I was working from home in my PJs in that lost year, I don’t know what does. From the history of this song on this site: “Plasma is apparently a conversation of sorts (perhaps between Tom Marshall and Scott Hermann) with one voice taking the view that people don’t change despite their best efforts, and the other expressing a belief in personal evolution.” Sense a theme here yet? 14.[b] Runaway Jim[/b]. Another song about loss (obliquely)—this time the loss of a beloved dog. Trey’s [i]“singing for Jim who’s swimming in the fountain” [/i]which can be heard as another metaphorical elegy for the many souls we have lost in the last 18 months. 15. Weekapaug Groove. OK, I admit I’ve got nothing on this one. Other than it was really cool to get a ‘paug on its own, unattached to Mike’s Song. Do we call this Runaway Groove or Weekapaug Jim? I’m gonna go with the former. 16. [b]Rift[/b]. Ok, here we go. Rift in a prime second-set slot. That ain’t no accident or coincidence. [i]“Through which I could spy several glimpses beneath Of the darkness the light from above could not reach I spied wings of reason, herself taking flight And upon yonder precipice saw her alight And glared back at me one last look of dismay As if she were the last one she thought I'd betray”[/i] A clear-eyed observation of the lunatic fringe that emerged over the last 18 months—the Covidiotic death cultists who abandoned reason and covered the land in darkness, seemingly completely impervious to the light of reason. [i]”And silence contagious in moments like these.”[/i] Did someone say contagious? [i]“And shocked and persuaded my soul to ignite.” [/i]All reasonable people have been shocked by what we’ve witnessed during the last few years and the last six months in particular from the mouth=-breathing dipshits who have exalted stupidity above science and reactionary recalcitrance above reason. The inclusion of this song can also be viewed as the band’s lamentation on the “rifts” that we’ve all seen and felt in our communities, our families, and yes, even in our “phamily.” In retrospect, Rift might be the most powerful song of the night—and its placement in the center of the second set seems designed to emphasize the centrality of the message. 17. [b]If I Could[/b]. A song Trey wrote for a close friend who was struggling and who Trey wanted to cheer up. It’s especially poignant in the context of this show, as it perfectly captures the yearning and longing for normality we felt during the pandemic. How often did we want someone to just take us to another place, to get out into the whispering breezes. And how often did we have to say to ourselves and our loved ones during this time [i]“if I could I would, but I don’t know how.”[/i] I think, in particular, of the health-care workers to whom we owe such a debt of gratitude. How often have they felt the plaintive longing to be somewhere other than the hellscape that was their day-to-day existence during this pandemic? (Check out Trey’s tone from 4:45-end) 18. [b]Rise/Come Together[/b]. Another dig at Sanders. Or at least the people who are tearing us apart with lies, disinformation, and sowing seeds of discord and division. In case the more subtle approach had gone over some heads, Trey decides to apply a more direct approach, bopping us over the head with the message. This one actually sounds a lot better to me on re-listen than the night of the show. (Beautiful Trey tones from 3:45-5:00). 19. [b]Slave to the Traffic Light[/b]. A final nod to what we have all been going through collectively. The traffic light is perfect metaphor for the two steps forward, one step back we’ve had to endure. The desire to just move forward with total freedom and abandon, but not being able to because, well, reality has a way of halting our progress, forcing us to stop and start, then stop again. It’s frustrating. But you know what makes it less frustrating? Blissy jams! And Fishman’s nonsense! Both of which can be found in this beautiful set-ender. 20. [b]Say it to Me S.A.N.T.O.S.[/b] Another nod to the rifts that have developed with [i]“we are divided.[/i]” But also: [i]“You’ll always remember where you were.”[/i] This is true of the first time I saw this song live on 10/31/18. And it’s true of this one as well. No lies to be found here. I will always, always remember this night. I have seen hundreds of live shows over the last forty years all across America. Live music has been a ginormous part of my life. Having no live in-person concerts the last 18 months has taken a toll on my mental health (though, of course, I realize that I am privileged and fortunate in so many ways to have not suffered much more in so many other ways, as so many others have). Finally, one last nod to those we have lost: [i]"Like everyone else, you will always be remembered, even life itself.”[/i] What a beautiful, artful, cohesive, brilliantly designed and executed show. Bottom line: Every live show is a gift to be cherished. And this one is certainly no exception to that rule.
, attached to 2021-07-28

Review by timber02

timber02 Just to touch on the Simple -> Fuego in this show, which IMO was the highlight (DWD included). Simple trudges deep into the sludge and confusion, harkening back to when phish was evil. The jam kind of took me by surprise, and I think they kind of let their curiosity take the wheel in either an aggressive act of shaking off the cobwebs or purely from excitement to just be playing again. "Hey guys, we're back. No rules on this one, let's get weird." Flowed a little chunky into Fuego, and the emphasis is really on chunky here. This thing kicks off pretty unusually without much adherence to how Fuego "should sound." Expect some wonky tones and spooky sounds coming from mike and page, complete with a good ol' wailin' fishman. The breakdown leading into trey's solo has an overall dark undertone, and the solo that followed matched the mood. Again, leaning back into the chunk (maybe some slop) on entering the jam-field after the girl began levitating. I really enjoyed where this one went with trey coming in with big psychedelic vibes - I don't know what that switch he flips is or pedal maybe, but it goes totally "I'm only sleeping" or "strawberry fields forever" and blew me away in the moment. Some nice little pockets of bliss/world-spiraling confusion here to be enjoyed/feared. Moves right on into plasma here, which I personally like a cool-off song. I would be remiss if I didn't at least mention the Jimapaug which was just fun all around and should not be missed if you haven't given it a spin yet. I hope we get a real monster Jim this summer. That would be sweet. Anyway, a decent start off to the tour - I must agree with a previous poster, 3.7 would be my vote given the option. It's going to be great to have some new jams again to listen to with a critical ear. Gotta keep those muscles strong. Can't really comment on the vibe of the show in-person as I was planted on the couch, but I just wish we could've had the joyous reunion we deserved without all the loss and sickness looming overhead. Stay safe out there everybody.
, attached to 2021-07-28

Review by DanthePhan42

DanthePhan42 A solid show at a great venue. My friend and I both hung out in the convention center parking lot prior to the show to explore the small shakedown and what it had to offer. It was his first Phish show and both of our first times hitting shakedown. After meeting some great folks and a few .netters we decided to get in sooner rather than later to get a solid spot on the lawn. Very comfortable lawn at a good angle with plenty of space to boogie. The first set started off a bit underwhelming. I liked the opener but felt something with more energy would've really kicked things off right. Could've done without Bouncing, my buddy on the other hand loves that song and was thrilled it was played. All in all a good first set. Second set was great. DWD to start off was awesome and to follow it with Simple? Fantastic. Fuego was jammed out well and the Runaway Jim->Weekapaug->Runaway Jim was insane, and no Mike's?! Cool little setlist rarity. The Rift was played much better than expected, and fast too. The Slave to finish the set was great, was really hoping to catch that song. Encore seemed underwhelming, like it could've gone longer. A solid show with some great classics and good jams, but definitely not five stars. The energy of the crowd and anticipation to see the band play really made this show something special. Really glad and thankful I was able to make it.
, attached to 2021-07-28

Review by 90MinuteJam

90MinuteJam Do bubbles carry covid? Maybe. Did phish rock out at this show? Absolutely. The boys did exactly what they were supposed to do… deliver a solid performance after a 17 month band interruption. Great song selection, trey has a nice newer sound and peddle(?), and rust was minimal, all things considered. Amazing crowd & energy the always boosts a show rating imho. Impressed on how many people I met that flew in for this one show; Ain’t no easy flights into Rogers. They tried to go deep in the second set and couldn’t get there, still sounded good tho. Body language suggests covid announcement and precautions might be on their minds. For sure let’s not throw things on stage, boys need to stay healthy and seems that made them a bit uncomfortable. A lot of shows ahead of us!
You can still access archived Phish.net reviews


Phish.net

Phish.net is a non-commercial project run by Phish fans and for Phish fans under the auspices of the all-volunteer, non-profit Mockingbird Foundation.

This project serves to compile, preserve, and protect encyclopedic information about Phish and their music.

Credits | Terms Of Use | Legal | DMCA

© 1990-2021  The Mockingbird Foundation, Inc. | Hosted by Linode